Each year BAC awards three scholarships to graduating high school seniors who plan to continue their study of art. Submissions are judged by volunteer professional artists who are represented by Bainbridge Arts & Crafts. Their decisions are made on the basis of mastery of medium, creativity, presentation, and essay.

2017 Scholarships

Get your 2017 scholarship application instructions and info right here. Application deadline is Monday, April 17.

Scholarship overview

Pauli Family Scholarship

Longtime Bainbridge Islanders Jani and Bill Pauli are passionate supporters of education and the arts. Their own children attended school on the island, and they strongly believe in the power of art to enrich and improve young lives. In this spirit, they established the Pauli Family Scholarship in 2007. This $2,000 scholarship is given each year to a student who demonstrates excellence in one or more mediums.

Past recipients are Andaluccia Curtis (2016), Soren Ferguson (2015), Anna Teiche (2014), Nora Lang (2013,) Kai F. Delphinidae (2012), Katarina Krueger (2011), Wesley R. McClain (2010), Richard Murphy (2009), and Karina Trygg (2008).

Pauli & George Dennis Scholarship

In 2015, Bainbridge Arts & Crafts had the great honor of presenting work by the late George W. Dennis, whose wife, Pauli Dennis, was one of the founding members of BAC. Thanks to the generosity of the Dennis family, BAC used proceeds from the sales of George’s work to establish the Pauli and George Dennis scholarship fund. This $1,000 scholarship is given to a student who demonstrates excellence in one or more mediums.

Past recipients are Anneke Karreman (2016)

Rosalyn Gale Powell Scholarship

In 1971, well-known artist and longtime Bainbridge Arts & Crafts supporter Rosalyn Gale Powell established a college scholarship fund to give young artists a leg up in their art studies. She maintained the fund for many years by donating a portion of the proceeds from sales of her work.

Bainbridge Arts & Crafts is honored to maintain Rosalyn’s legacy through the continuation of her scholarship, awarded each year in the amount of $1,000 to a student who demonstrates excellence in one artistic medium.

Past recipients are Eliza Townsend (2016), Maddie Rogers (2015), Celia Chaussabel (2014), Rebecca Kane Skotheim (2013), Karya Schanilec (2012), Katie Kuffel (2011), Julia Chamberlain (2010), Claire Allen (2009), and Carson Massie (2008).

If you’re interested in being added to our Education mailing list, contact Programming and Outreach Director Georgia Browne,

Also of interest

Student artists

Free programs


Art After 60

Art in the Lobby

On this page, from top

Susan Lowdermilk, Keeping the Faith (detail). Image courtesy of the artist. Student art photos by Susan Wiersema.